In Emotional Intelligence 2.0 it is stated:

We have so many words to describe the feelings that surface in life, yet all emotions are derivations of five core feelings: happiness, sadness, anger, fear, and shame.

This chart is used to categorize different feelings under these core emotions.

enter image description here

Interesting that there are 4 negative and only 1 positive core feeling. Also to note there is 'Heartbroken' in the sad category. However, is there is no 'love' feeling to match 'Heartbroken'.

Hence, the main question: Does the current psychology understanding back up this sort of categorization? And is 'love' really non-existent as a discrete feeling?

  • 1
    $\begingroup$ Possible duplicate of psychology.stackexchange.com/q/17265/7001. Another possibility is psychology.stackexchange.com/questions/8510/… $\endgroup$
    – Arnon Weinberg
    Dec 2, 2019 at 5:46
  • $\begingroup$ Good question. But, in terms of, "is there is no 'love' feeling to match 'Heartbroken'", consider that being in love and heartbroken go hand in hand. They are not opposites. $\endgroup$
    – Steven Jeuris
    Dec 2, 2019 at 12:59
  • $\begingroup$ Those possible duplicates are definitely relevant! Perhaps focus this question specifically on the last question only, the one about love. In that case, I don't think it is a dupe. $\endgroup$
    – Steven Jeuris
    Dec 2, 2019 at 13:02


Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.